In one of the most unique cases of post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) seen in recent years, a former wedding reception employee has reported PTSD symptoms every time she hears “I Gotta Feeling” on the radio or at the local discotheque. Rebecca Flanagan spent close to 10 years working at a reception centre in Heidelberg before recently changing careers, but it seems her time working in the wedding industry has left a concerning legacy. 

Having completed her last wedding in November last year, Rebecca has since experienced a number of troubling psychological episodes, all triggered by the hearing of “I Gotta Feeling”. Industry estimates suggest that at least 85% of weddings between 2009 and 2016 have used “I Gotta Feeling” as the entrance track for the bridal party. The song reached its zenith in 2013 when the craze had officially swept the nation, heading Wedding Magazine‘s Top 10 wedding entrance songs. The track had become synonymous with, if not a key ingredient to, having a good night. However, the longevity of its popularity has surprised wedding DJs across Australia. 

Speaking about her condition this week, Rebecca said, “all I have to hear is the opening strains and it sets me off. I break into a sweat, my hands shake, and I become extremely agitated. I also suffer terrible flashbacks; you know, bridesmaids dipping their knees and pumping the air with their flower bouquets in fabricated enthusiasm, someone’s drunken uncle creepily asking me what I’m doing when my shift ends, and bridezilla’s getting aggressively drunk off one glass of champagne because they haven’t eaten for three days in the lead up.”

Rebecca also said that, on reflection, her traumatic symptoms may have led to the odd timing of her exit from the wedding industry. “The timing of my departure definitely raised a few eyebrows. November is quite early in the wedding season, so people were asking questions. It’s like a footy player hanging up the boots in about round three or four. You don’t put in all the effort of a solid pre-season just to hang up the white shirt and black pants that early in the season. I was obviously rattled and it was time to go.”

