Biomechanist Chris Bennett has confirmed the suspicions of babies all over the world by saying that it is impossible for adults to keep their mouths closed while trying to feed infants with a spoon. Bennett labelled the involuntary mouth quirk as a “common mimicking correlation encouragement behaviour”, likening it to the physical impossibility of sneezing with your eyes open. 

Macleod mother of three, Rebecca Stinson, said “I never realised I was doing it until my eldest daughter started mocking me while I was feeding my youngest son. It’s a relief to hear that there is a scientific reason for my otherwise bizarre looking feeding technique.”

Bennett also said that, while extremely difficult, it is possible to reduce the size of your mouth opening if you embark on an extensive training program. Although he admitted there are no guarantees, and private health insurers were yet to add coverage for such a radical medical treatment. 

