Despite frequent protestations from his wife, Eltham man Steven Prindle has finally managed to drag her along to a pregnancy photo shoot to officially record this special time in their lives. After weeks of phone interviews with a shortlist of local photographers, Prindle contracted the services of a guy who “normally does weddings but does this kind of thing for a bit of pocket money”.

Speaking on location under the old railway bridge at Alistair Knox Park last Saturday, Prindle said it had been a long negotiation with his wife, Rebecca, due to her concerns about “looking like a bit of a bell end in public, like what if we see someone that we know? And once it’s on social media, which we all know is the only reason we are doing this, I’m gunna cop heaps of stick from my mates.”

Despite her initial reluctance, Rebecca ended up surprisingly pleased with the results. “That photographer must really know his way around Photoshop, I look awesome. And I like the way my arms look in that classic shot of me holding up my belly while Steve cradles me from behind.”

