There seems to be little doubt that the most irritating interview question is the old “Where do you see yourself in 5 years?” While most interviewees either squirm at this one or roll out a well-rehearsed lie about a non-existent career plan, a local woman has recently baffled interviewers with her achingly honest reply. 

The Montmorency woman, Chloe Francis, attended an interview for a sales role at a business in Templestowe. When asked the time honoured question, Francis replied “Well, you know Greensy Plaza yeah? They used to have this miniature electronic Thomas the Tank Engine train that drove around one of the levels, weaving in and out of foot traffic with a load of young passengers having a whale of a time. It looked pretty cool. One day, I’d like to be the driver of that kind of train. I mean, you get to wear one of those denim style train driver hats. What’s not to love? 

“So, in answer to your question, I see me getting a job with your wonderful organisation, staying for approximately three to four years, and saving some money to put towards a deposit to get a loan to purchase one of those trains. At which point you will shake my hand, thank me for my time, present me with one of those over-sized cards signed by people I’ve never even heard of, and I’ll skip out of this office ready to commence my new vocation. Did I mention the train has a horn that you can toot?”

